Tertiary Education Board

The Tertiary Education Board (TEB) is the highest executive decision making body in terms of managing Tertiary Education System in the country through planning and funding, quality assurance, and registration and licensing of both public and private Tertiary Education Institutions. 

The Board is established via an Executive Order issued by His Excellency the Prime Minister based on the Tertiary Education Policy of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2010. The Hon’ble Minister for Education chairs the Board. The Department of Adult and Higher Education serves as the Secretariat to the Board. Therefore, the Director for the Department of Adult and Higher Education, Ministry of Education is the Member Secretary. 



The functions of the TEB are as follows: 

  • Ensure the full realization of the goals of the Tertiary Education Policy of the   Kingdom of Bhutan, 2010. 
  • Provide guidance and direction for the overall planning and strategizing of tertiary education needs and support the growth of tertiary education system in the country. 
  • Facilitate towards reducing the administrative burden on clientele by making processes such as approval system and securing of funds more efficient. 
  • Facilitate in obtaining the scholarships, student grants and loans. 
  • Oversee the funding, and, where appropriate, the planning of: 
  1. All programmes of tertiary education offered in the country, in all modes of study, in all subject areas, for all types of entrants.
  2. All government-sponsored tertiary education and training undertaken abroad.
  3. Doctoral level education and research (including base funding and specific projects).
  4. Specific projects which shall be limited by time (research, development, and capital works). 


The powers of the Board are as follows: 

  • Review and set goals for tertiary education, review strategies to meet the goals, maintain progressive balance by subject, mode, level, entrants, etc. 
  • Validate and approve all plans and proposals for allocations of funds. 
  • Approve the establishment of institutions based on recommendation by Bhutan Accreditation Council (BAC). 
  • Appoint Sub-Committees as deemed appropriate to execute its duties effectively and responsibly. 


The Tertiary Education Board comprise of the following members:

  1. Minister, Ministry of Education (Chairperson)
  2. Secretary, Ministry of Education
  3. Joint Secretary, Ministry of Finance
  4. Director, Department of Human Resources, Ministry of Labour and Human Resources
  5. Director, Department of Industries, Ministry of Economic Affairs
  6. Director, GNH Commission Secretariat
  7. Commissioner, Royal Civil Service Commission
  8. Director General, Department of Adult and Higher Education (Member Secretary) 

The Board shall co-opt other members from associated professional bodies such as universities, colleges, corporations, private promoters and professionals from other relevant agencies.